Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join AustCham
Share |

The genesis of AustCham was in 1977/1978 when a group of Australians with business interests in Singapore met on a regular basis in the Australian High Commission. This adhoc group formed itself into the Singapore Australian Business Committee, but was very much a meeting of like-minded Australians who discussed matters of business and social interest in Singapore. In 1981, the Singapore Australian Business Council (SABC) was formally set up. Rules were drawn up and in January 1982, SABC held its inaugural meeting.

On 15 June 2001, the SABC formally changed its name to the "Australian Chamber of Commerce, Singapore" in order to keep uniform with the other chambers around the region.

The objectives of the SABC then are similar to now: in essence, to provide a forum on an organised and continuing basis of Australian senior executives - irrespective of the origins of the organisation for which they work, Singaporeans and other nationals who are senior executives of Australian companies where they can exchange and discuss ideas and common interests regarding economic, industrial and commercial objectives.

Presidents OF AUSTCHAM

2019 - Present  Andrew Brown
ANZ Banking Group Limited  
 2019 (February - June)

Adam Lyle
Padang & Co.

 2017 -2019

Ian Cummin
BlueScope Building (Singapore)

 2014 - 2017

Guy Scott
Cumming Construction Management Inc

2010 - 2013
Graham Lee

2008 - 2010
Nick Cocks

Readymix Holdings International
2004 - 2008
John Dick

2000 - 2004
Philip Forrest

Omega Performance
1997 - 2000
Tony Bridge
Burns Bridge
1994 - 1997
Craig Bell

1994 (January - June)
John Dick

1993 (July - December)
Ross Davidson

1991 - 1993
David Murray

1988 - 1991
Jen Shek Voon

Public Accountant Singapore
1987 - 1988
Peter Knight

1986 - 1987
John McLeod

Left in 2000
1985 - 1986
David Hagley

1984 - 1985
Bob Storr
Tom Hanrahan

Bruce Hayman

Chartwell Management

Honorary Life Members

Craig Bell

John Dick

Tim Fischer

Philip Forrest

Bruce Hayman

Derek MacKenzie

Alan Nisbet

Peter Peate

Owen Price

Graham Rice